Sports Personality Of The Year Betting

The BBC Sports Personality Of The Year (or SPOTY as it has become known) is a prestigious award given by the BBC to the sports person that has achieved the most in their particular sport over the year.

It is an annual event held in late December, which covers sporting achievement in a calender year (from January to December). The award is decided on a public vote, culminating in a spectacular live TV show, with the winner announced at the end of the live broadcast.

What usually happens prior to this, is a 10 person short list is announced late on in the year, and then the public have the right to vote – from the 10 person short list – on who they think is the worthy winner in the weeks leading up to the live show.

Other trophies awarded on the night are the BBC Overseas Sports Personality of the Year and the BBC Sports Personality Team of the Year Awards.

2014 BBC Sports Personality of the Year Shortlist – 14th December 2014

Gareth Bale
Charlotte Dujardin
Carl Froch
Kelly Gallagher & Charlotte Evans
Lewis Hamilton
Rory McIlroy
Jo Pavey
Adam Peaty
Max Whitlock
Lizzy Yarnold

BBC Sports Personality Of The Year Betting

At the start of every year bookmakers will assess what high profile sports events are taking place, and who is in with a good chance of winning any of those events. But with so many high profile sports people in so many high profile sport’s events over the course of 12 months to choose from, it’s a very hard market to predict.

As well as annual events like Wimbledon, Tour de France, etc, you will also get events like the Football World Cup or Olympics that come round every 4 years, or the Ryder Cup (every 2 years).

If you follow this market over the years, you will notice that in an Olympic or Football World Cup year, more athletes and footballers will probably be the early front runners, while in a Ryder Cup year, golfers would be prominent in the betting.

Another thing you may have noticed over the years if you follow this market is the sentimental vote. For example Ryan Giggs won in 2009 and AP McCoy in 2010. Neither of them had any better or worse sporting years than any other years, in the respective years they won their SPOTY titles. Both won mainly down to what could only be called a public campaign to get their magnificent careers recognised and rewarded.

Betting on this event is mainly done on the Outright Winner market. Each-way betting can vary, with some bookies paying on a top 2 finish, and some on a top 3 finish. They also vary as to 1/3 odds, or 1/4 of the odds, etc, so be sure to shop around for the best value. Other bets taken on this award are, Gender of the Winner and Winning Sport.