Premier League Darts Betting

The 2016 Premier League Darts competition is being sponsored by Betway (who are also giving new customers a £50 free bet). Qualification is made up of a number of factors, including winning major TV tournaments (such as the World Championship), Ranking, and Wildcards.

The 10 players making up the 2016 Premier League Darts line up are Michael van Gerwen, Gary Anderson, Phil Taylor, Adrian Lewis, Robert Thornton, Peter Wright, James Wade, Raymond van Barneveld, Dave Chisnall and Michael Smith.

Premier League Darts Betting

As Premier League Darts runs for well over 10 weeks and is fairly high profile, there are plenty of betting opportunities. Some bookies offer regular money back specials, such as money back if your match is a draw, or your match ends on a bulls-eye.

Also with 5 matches a night (before 2 players are eliminated, when it becomes 4 matches a night), accumulators are also a very popular Premier League Darts Bet, especially given the fact that there are 3 possible outcomes (win/draw/win) in the outright match winning markets.

And it’s not just outright match winning accumulators, you can get handicap accumulator bets, and most 180s accumulator bets.

About Premier League Darts

Premier League Darts started life in 2005, with Phil Taylor (surprise, surprise) winning the first ever tournament. It started off with 7 players playing Round Robin format on Thursday night’s live on Sky Sports, with the top 4 players in the league reaching finals day, were they played two semi-finals, and a final – largely the format still used today.

Despite the large winners cheques on offer, in the early years of the tournament, it had more of a Darts Exhibition’ feel to it, rather than a major competition.

These days it’s a different feel, with 10 players competing in the 2014 tournament for total prize pool of £550,000.

Players nowadays are vying for a place in the Premier League, not just for the prize money, but for the prestige and profile gained from competing in a weekly major darts event culminating in finals night being held in front of sell out crowds at London’s O2 arena.