Darts World Championship Betting

This year’s Darts World Championship tournament starts on 18th December 2014, and finishes on 4th January 2015. The tournament is covered by Sky Sports with every match shown live, meaning you won’t miss one single dart.

The defending Champion is Dutchman Michael van Gerwen, who beat Scotland’s surprise finalist Peter Wright 7-4 in the final last January.

This year sees William Hill take over sponsorship of the tournament from long time High Street bookmaking rival, Ladbrokes, who have sponsored the tournament for the last 12 years.

PDC Darts World Championship Promotions

Throughout the 2015 Darts World Championship tournament, bookmakers are offering money back offers and free bets in an attempt to get you to keep placing your darts bets with them. Theses offers aren’t exactly going to get you rushing to place bets, but they could be useful if you are having a bet anyway.

They are as follows…………

Paddy Power (£50.00 free bet for new customers) – If the final leg of a match finishes with a 100+ checkout, Paddy Power will refund your losing match bet (on that match) as a free bet, up to a maximum of £100.00.

Boylesports (£50.00 in free bets for new customers) – If your match finishes with a Bullseye, Boylesports will refund your losing match bet on that match up to a maximum of £50.00

PDC Darts World Championship Each-Way Betting

The 2015 tournament sees most of the major bookmakers offering half the odds for a top two finish/your player gets to the final.

World Championship Format

The format sees a straight knock-out tournament starting with 64 players in the first round. There will then be 32 left in the second round, 16 players competing in the 3rd round, 8 in the quarter-finals, etc.

The tournament is played in Sets format. A Set is played over the best of 5 legs, with the first player to win 3 legs, winning the Set.

In the PDC Darts World Championship, the first round is played over the best of 5 Sets (first to 3 Sets). The second and third rounds are played over the best of 7 Sets, the quarter-finals is the best of 9, semi-finals the best of 11, with the final played out over a marathon 13 Sets (the first to 7 Sets is the winner and world champion).

With the long format, and the use of Sets in the scoring at the World Championship, the best players usually always come to the fore and win the title. Which is why over recent years we have only seen players of the quality of Phil Taylor, John Part, Raymond van Barneveld, Adrian Lewis and Michael van Gerwen lifting the title.

So if you are looking to bet on the World Championship winner, you need to bear in mind that you occasionally get a shock finalist, but hardy ever a shock winner.

The longer format, and the Set scoring, brings a different mental pressure that less experienced players aren’t used too. For example, in the first round a player needs to win 3 Sets to go through. A player could lose all 3 Sets 3-2 on legs, and go out 3-0 (3 Sets to nil) on the scoreboard. He has effectively lost 9-6 in legs, but has a zero on the scoreboard.

This is where Sets scoring is different to a match that is a straight forward first to 16 legs (for example). There is a pressure leg and more major pressure darts in every Set, and this is where the lesser players can be found out – hence the lack of shock winners.

PDC and BDO Darts World Championships

If you are betting on the World Darts Championship, please be aware that there is 2 darting organisations, the PDC (Professional Darts Corporation) and the BDO (British Darts Organisation). The BDO World Championship always starts in January, just after the PDC World Championship finishes, so make sure you don’t end up betting on the wrong tournament.

About The Darts World Championship

The Darts World Championship is the pinnacle of the Darts season. The tournament is an annual event that is always held over the Christmas to New Year period.

Since the 2007-08 season the tournament has been held in the Alexandra Palace in London, with previous tournaments held in the Circus Tavern in Purfleet.

The tournament as we know it today has only existed since 1993-94. The 1993-94 tournament was the first to be held under the newly formed PDC. Back then the PDC was a new darts organisation that was formed after the world’s top players decided to split from the BDO and form their own breakaway organisation.

To be fair to them, since the split they have been proven right as the PDC has gone from strength to strength and is now a massive world wide organisation with over £6 Million paid out in prize money annually.